You can now Revoke message in WhatsApp

Revoke Message in WhatsApp
Revoke Message in WhatsApp

A new feature which is partly rolling our reveals that users can now delete messages which they ave sent to someone. The feature is not fully available and the requirements to enable this feature is not flexible as a result people might not use it at all.

The feature comes in two forms:

  • Delete message for yourself
  • Delete message for everyone

Deleting messages for yourself allows you to delete your own copy of messages you’ve sent or received from your phone. Huh!! just that, yea not much to think about. This has no effect on your recipients’ end chats. Your recipients will still see the messages you sent and deleted from your side in their chat screen.

Delete Sent Messages
Delete Sent Messages

How to delete messages for yourself in whatsapp

  • Go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  • Tap and hold the message. you can also tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  • Tap Delete  at the top of the screen > Delete for me.
Delete message for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either in a group or an individual regular chat. Comes in handy when you have sent the wrong message to the person. After you must have deleted the message . it will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Well, this one is quite useful though. And if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat with someone, it means that the sender deleted their message for you too.

 

Deleting message for everyone is only available for seven minutes after which you have sent the message. After seven minutes, it has been made permanent.

How to delete message for everyone on whatsapp
  • Go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  • Tap and hold the message. you can tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  • Tap Delete  at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.

Deleting for everyone has some requirements to be met, such as both end must be running the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone and You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *